Cut the Barrel?

This is what we do.
kd5zmg
AA Poster
AA Poster

Cut the Barrel?

Post by kd5zmg »

I currently have a 5418 Franken build. I find the rifle as a whole still too front heavy and it would be nice to chop 8 oz of weight from this rig. The Shilen Barrel length is 22 1/2" long. I was thinking about chopping it back 2 inches. If I do, is it possible to determine if that will degrade the precision of the rifle?
-Mark
DavidABQ
Expert Master Poster
Expert Master Poster

Re: Cut the Barrel?

Post by DavidABQ »

Of course it will ruin accuracy if it turns out to be true that Anschutz uses a choke point near the muzzle.

I cannot remember if you have a custom barrel on that rifle or not.
atomicbrh
Master Poster
Master Poster

Post by atomicbrh »

I have been shooting silhouette for 16 years. The first few years I would have wanted to cut the barrel off to reduce front weight just like you. If you practice and shoot a few years you will want that front weight back. Practice and shoot the rifle frequently. You will soon enjoy that front weight. It will help reduce your wobble. Usually as a shooter develops they want a longer stock and more front weight than when they started.
SteveD
AA Poster
AA Poster

Post by SteveD »

When you do your dry fire practice at home, add weight to the front of the rifle. You can buy weights with Velcro straps designed to wear on your wrist and fasten it around the forearm of your rifle. They have several removable weight packs inside to adjust the weight.
ywltzucanrknrl
A Poster
A Poster

Post by ywltzucanrknrl »