Scope question

This is what we do.
Post Reply
newpep
B Poster
B Poster
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:03 pm

Scope question

Post by newpep » Sat Jul 23, 2016 8:33 pm

I have been using the same rifle and scope for 2 years, CZ455 and Sightron 1/8 scope.
Recently I put some risers on the scope to get it higher.
When I went to the range to sight the scope in again I was surprised.
The scope had been set at zero for chickens, and for rams the setting was all the way up to zero again plus 2 clicks.
I am at the same range and same animal distances, so no change there, but the scope settings surprised me.
Yes, I was using a bench rest.
To hit the chickens, I had to go up to 2 on the turret (no big deal), so after checking the rest of the animals, I moved the turret so the chickens are again at zero.
I set the pigs and turkeys, but the setting for the rams now is at 6. The turret has numbers from 0 (zero) to 7.
How could the settings be so different? What could cause this?
Thanks

thauglor
AA Poster
AA Poster
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 9:18 pm

Re: Scope question

Post by thauglor » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:44 pm

A low scope zeroed at close range, can see the bullet go above the center of the scope axis and then drop back down into it as the bullet flies without hitting any target. The same zero but a higher scope, the bullet might not cross the center axis of the scope. This results in less elevation needed for longer range targets, ie rams.

newpep
B Poster
B Poster
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:03 pm

Re: Scope question

Post by newpep » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:13 am

I sort of understand now. Guess it is a good thing I don't work in the space program.
As long as I can hit the critters, that is what counts. I was just so surprised at the different settings.
Less chance of a pinwheel on the scope now, that is a good thing. ;)
Thanks again

User avatar
kd5zmg
AA Poster
AA Poster
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:15 am
Contact:

Re: Scope question

Post by kd5zmg » Tue Aug 30, 2016 1:31 pm

Interesting. I think it will change if you move the scope forward or back. Thank you for sharing, it kind of makes sense as to what happened... :-?
-Mark
Image

Post Reply