What kind of hold do you use?

This is what we do.
Jetmugg
AAA Poster
AAA Poster

What kind of hold do you use?

Post by Jetmugg »

As a newbie, I have been experimenting with different holding styles during some dry-fire practice sessions. A combination of a split-fingered hold coupled with resting the trigger guard on the heel of my left palm seems to be the most comfortable for me, but it might not be the most steady hold available. I'm looking for any suggestions that you guys might be willing to share.

I can already predict that some people will say something like "try different holds and see what works for you", which is good advice, but I'd like to have a few of the most favored holds to try out.

I'm headed to my second match this coming weekend, and I'd like to improve over my first-ever match scores, with an eye towards continuous improvement.

Thanks,

Steve M.
nomad
AA Poster
AA Poster

Post by nomad »

IMO, as long as your left arm (right handed shooter) is well into the body, your forearm is fairly vertical and your wrist is straight, it doesn't seem to matter all that much how you attach yourself to the front of the rifle...except that you probably shouldn't fight what your body style dictates. (Long, lanky types seem to do well with the gun high on the knuckles or fingertips. Short people like me seem to get better results with the gun well down into the hand. There is no hard and fast rule!)

(Keep in mind that I'm a AA shooter and NOBODY worries about what scores I'm turning in at matches!) lol :oops:
E Kuney
Jason
Uber Master Poster
Uber Master Poster

Post by Jason »