Is my revolver suitable.

Smallbore, pistol cartridge, centerfire - revolvers, pistols, Contenders, etc...
Pedro
Unclassified Poster

Is my revolver suitable.

Post by Pedro »

Hi all, new member from Australia here. I have been shooting rimfire silhouette for a couple of years now and enjoy it a lot. I would like to have a go at hand gun silhouette, I currently own a Smith and Wesson 586 .357 Magnum with a 6 inch barrel, it has the standard fixed front sight and the adjustable rear sight. Would this setup be useful for handgun silhouette? I'm not really concerned about high scores but also don't want to feel like I am wasting my time. I currently reload with commercial cast bullets, are these suitable and what projectile weight and velocity is preferred? Finally what would be the preferred zero and/or aiming points be for each animal? Thanks for your time and any replies will be much appreciated.

Pedro.
cedestech
Distinguished Master Poster w/Palms
Distinguished Master Poster w/Palms

Re: Is my revolver suitable.

Post by cedestech »

If you enjoy shooting it, can come up with a load that is accurate and have good sight settings for all 4 distances then yes.

One of my shooters has shot forever and used to use a pair of S&W revolvers (I'm ignorant of the model).
One in 22 and the other in 32H&R Mag. Both have full barrel under lug, finger grooved grips and VERY
sweet triggers. He uses contenders now because his eyes wont let him shoot open sights.

If it falls into the sanctioning bodies rules you shoot under, have at it.... :)
Emmett Dibble, Houston, Texas. Where's my buddy Jason? Keeper of electronic records and banisher of little pieces of paper?
GregG
AA Poster
AA Poster

Post by GregG »

Here is my two cents worth. You did not say which silhouette sport you wanted to shoot the 357 in IHMSA or NRA silhouette.

NRA