38-72 Winchester

Front-stuffers, smoke-belchers and .22 BPCR!
DanDeMan
AA Poster
AA Poster

38-72 Winchester

Post by DanDeMan »

Boats,

As I've said, I've been shooting 10-twist 38-72's for about 10 years in BPCR silhouette, mid-range, long-range and long-range gong matches. It is a do-everything cartridge when a 10-twist barrel is used. Recoil is mild, accuracy is excellent and performance in the wind superb when the proper bullet is designed and used.

If you Google "Dan Theodore & 38-72 Winchester" you should find some stuff out there. I wrote a few articles about the cartridge, but they are on a crashed hard drive.

Here's a diagram of the reamer I designed back in 2003 to start the discussion.

Cheers,

Dan Theodore
DanDeMan
AA Poster
AA Poster

Re: 38-72 Winchester

Post by DanDeMan »

Boats,

I found one email I sent to a friend about how to form 38-72 brass and load ammo.
====================================================================
Here's the only die set to order:

http://www.buffaloarms.com/38_72_Win_RC ... x?CAT=4042

Process for forming 38-72 brass from Hornady’s 405 Winchester brass.

1. Run your press ram all the way up and then screw the FL die all the way to the top of the shell holder and back it off 2 revolutions.

2. Very lightly lube a piece of brass.

3. Size the brass about 1/2 way.

4. Remove the brass from the shell holder and wipe off any accumulation of lube in the neck transition area that is now forming. If you don't, you will dimple the neck due to too much lube. Now finish sizing the piece of brass.

5. Trim the piece of brass to about 2.580" so the mouth will not hang-up in the chamber from being too long. This sacrificial case is used to set the FL die for minimum sizing.

6. Try to chamber the brass. It should not chamber quite yet
7. Screw in the die body 1/4 turn, resize and try to chamber the brass.