A bit Confused

All the dope on risers, rings, scopes and optics.
steveyacht
B Poster
B Poster

A bit Confused

Post by steveyacht »

OK, I have found the gun, a CZ 452 American. Now, I am researching and actively looking for the right scope. I am a REAL novice when it comes to scopes and proper scope usage. While I have been a competative shotgun shooter, steel shooter, USPSA shooter and am an instructor in various disciplines, I am entering into unknown territory.

I would like to understand what sort of scope I need. I keep hearing Dots, Varminter, etc when it comes to reticles. What is the preferred reticle for this sport? If it is a Mil Dot, what size? Is a variable power scope preferred over a single power? When it comes to "click adjustments" what is better, 1/8th, 1/4 or 1/2? I see the largest objective diameter for this particular rifle is about 40 or 42 mm, so that I understand.

In relation to the scope, what rings are preferred? Would the rings available from CZ be acceptable and of high enough quality to get me by? Should I look elsewhere? I am attempting to keep my budget under $1,000 for the rifle, rings, extra magazines and spotting scope. Is this a reasonable expectation?

Sorry for all the dumb ass questions, but inquiring minds must know........ (I don't get called anal without good reason)

Thanks in advance for your help! I really do appreciate all I have received! What a great bunch.
Steve
Just happy to be here
NRA Life Member
AMA Charter Life Member
US Army Veteran
jdp
B Poster
B Poster

Re: A bit Confused

Post by jdp »