PCP for Offhand Practice

Pumps, pre-charged, springers and everything else pneumatic.
TomJ
B Poster
B Poster

PCP for Offhand Practice

Post by TomJ »

I'm relatively new to shooting metallic silhouette and consequently buying a lot of equipment, meaning spending lots of $$$. I'd like to purchase a PCP rifle for backyard offhand practice, no formal competition at least at this point in time. My main goal is to perfect and ingrain the basics of good shot mechanics, consequently iron sights would be acceptable initially, however, I would like the ability to mount a scope in the future. The cocking motion of, for example, the FWB 600 series rifles aggravates shoulder and elbow problems. I'm looking for "relatively" low cost rifles, if that's possible that would serve the purpose. I'd appreciate your help. Thanks, Tom
richard
A Poster
A Poster

Re: PCP for Offhand Practice

Post by richard »

There are lots of options but first consider shooting air rifle silhouette. It's as good as any silhouette discipline. If you want to go cheap maybe a co2 rifle like a QB78 would work for you. If you want something better then a 10 meter target rifle is the way to go. They are not super powerful but they are very nice and very accurate. If you want to keep cost on lower end look for a used FWB 300 or an old RWS 75 or an old Walther. They do require effort to cock. The next step up is a current PCP rifle. Crosman makes an inexpensive one. If you want a really nice one then all the top makers have nice rifles but make sure you can mount a scope on them, most you can. Also PCP requires a tank or a pump to charge the rifle.
My 10 meter gun currently is an Anschutz 8002 with laminate stock and I use a hand pump to charge it. Previously my target air rifles have been a Gamo 126, Walther LG, last was an Anschutz 2002.
Air rifles are not just for practice for other stuff, but shooting them will help with your other shooting.
Good luck.
Richard
thauglor
AAA Poster
AAA Poster