SBCLA Rookie Report

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
DnL627
B Poster
B Poster

SBCLA Rookie Report

Post by DnL627 »

Howdy folks. As I only recently picked up Smallbore Cowboy Lever Action silhouette shooting, I thought I would put together a series of recaps of my first few months of experience in the sport while the memories are fresh and lessons are still being learned. I’m hoping this will be beneficial to future new shooters or those of you lurking and thinking about taking a crack at SBCLA. As a friendly reminder, this is just one person’s experience and opinions, your mileage may vary.

Background
I’ve been shooting recreationally with friends and family since I was about 12. I started shooting trap and sporting clays recreationally in college. I picked up the action pistol sports (USPSA, Steel Challenge, and informal club matches) when I was 23. So while no expert by any means, I can say I have a lot of experience in a variety of shooting sports. However, shooting silhouette or any sort of precision rifle sport is something I have never done before.

As I mentioned in my very 1st post, forum member TLee and I struck up a conversation during our club’s swap meet about silhouette and invited me to give it a shot at our club’s monthly SBCLA match. This was my very first exposure to the silhouette sports. Despite being an NRA member for years, a regular follower of a variety of shooting blogs, being active on the Youtube outdoor and shooting sports community, and even attending an NSSF conference about opening up a shooting range, I had not been exposed to silhouette shooting until that 1 on 1 conversation with TLee. I’m someone really dialed into the 2A community and I didn’t even know it existed until it was smack dab right in front of me.

Leading Up to the First SBCLA Match