Newbie looking for focus

Centerfires, rimfires, pistol cartridges and everything in between.
orangeblaster
B Poster
B Poster

Newbie looking for focus

Post by orangeblaster »

Hello all, I'm new to the silhouette game and seem to be a cross roads already. My local clubs shoot both cowboy silhouette and small bore roughly once a month. But to compete I need to make a purchase. I own a CZ452 that needs a scope. Or for the same money I could buy a lever action rimfire for cowboy smallbore. Financially I can't do both this year.

So I'm stuck with a decision. Should I learn the game shooting cowboy small bore or hunter class small bore. Which would you recommend for someone trying to learn?
jnyork
AA Poster
AA Poster

Post by jnyork »

That's a tough decision as I shoot both. I think I would go with the Lever Action first, an easy way to have fun and learn some things. Just my .02 , however.
GeoNLR
Sponsor
Sponsor

Re: Newbie looking for focus

Post by GeoNLR »

orangeblaster wrote:Hello all, I'm new to the silhouette game and seem to be a cross roads already. My local clubs shoot both cowboy silhouette and small bore roughly once a month. But to compete I need to make a purchase. I own a CZ452 that needs a scope. Or for the same money I could buy a lever action rimfire for cowboy smallbore. Financially I can't do both this year.

So I'm stuck with a decision. Should I learn the game shooting cowboy small bore or hunter class small bore. Which would you recommend for someone trying to learn?
You asked for opinions, and I generally have one...LOL. Not to belittle the cowboy game as I shoot it a love it as well. But I will drive 2+ hours the 2nd and 4th Satrudays to shoot small bore while there is a very nicely ran cow boy at my home range.

They are completly different games, but I find the SB more chalanging and therefor the one I spend the most time to....