What do you typically do, when

More expensive to feed, but worth it.
DavidABQ
Expert Master Poster
Expert Master Poster

What do you typically do, when

Post by DavidABQ »

What does a reloaded do when they purchase a new product, Nosler Bullets in this case, that is not in their reloading book or on their online reloading data?

Ask for load data from the manufacturer and hope for the best?

Start excessively low and keep adding powder until the bolt handle is difficult to open?

I have now reloaded a total of 50 rounds so I am very new at this.
ywltzucanrknrl
A Poster
A Poster

Re: What do you typically do, when

Post by ywltzucanrknrl »

I generally have an idea when I buy them....HA!

But, what do you have David, maybe if you elaborate, someone else has tried them before and has some results?

Quickload can be a real help if the bullet is in his base.

The manufacturer or the online loading manuals sometimes have new info.

If you can't find any info, measure the lands driving length on the bullet and compare it to others you can get data on and start low---be conservative for sure. You can get a reasonable measurement using a sized case and spinning it on the bullet so it leaves a line around the circumference. Then measure that to the boattail junction or base and compare it to another bullet of the same weight. That will at lease give you an idea if the area riding on the lands is roughly the same or quite a bit different. If the new bullet has more area, it will likely create more resistance=higher pressure. Generally it seems when comparing two bullets of the same weight, an all copper bullet will have more area and than a traditional copper jacket/lead core bullet. That is where I have seen quite a bit of difference.
ywltzucanrknrl
A Poster
A Poster

Post by ywltzucanrknrl »