Can you do this?

This is what we do.

Can you do this?

Post by Guest »

Can anyone actuall hold the cross hairs on the animal for more than a split second. I have been practicing my holds at home and find it a bit tiring trying to hold on a target for than a split second. Do you actually try to hold still? Or do you try to control your wiggle? Do you move through the target consciously or try to hold on the target. I am new at this and it has my attention captured to try and improve. Looking for the secrets from all of you .

Thanks

Kevin
dave imas
A Poster
A Poster

Post by dave imas »

nobody holds their dot perfectly still for very long but the more successful shooters typically have a wobble zone well in the animal with a break that is very still. keep in mind, with good conditions, it doesn't matter where you break on the target as long as you follow thru.

Post by Guest »

Thanks Dave, right now it feels like my wobble zone is every where else but in the animal. hehehhe

Kevin

Post by Guest »

Any one who says they can simply hold on the target is going to have to prove it at the next match- and the one after that and then... well you get the idea.

As you get better the wobble zone will decrease significantly- but there is much more going on than that.

A small wobble zone does not help if it is not on the target. This leads to learning about you natural point of aim (NPA)- and how to shift it to where you need it. When the NPA can be shifted so it is over the target the samller wobble zone will leave you drifting on and off of the target, with periodic pauses and change in direction.